Classroom, courses, and modules
Classroom is the primary content portal for online courses but can host just about anything! With a combination of video embedding, a rich text description body, resource attachments, and transcripts, a Skool classroom can look quite differently depending on the focus of the group.
Click the "classroom" tab in the top toolbar:
Now you'll see your empty classroom - click the "+ New course" button to create your first course:
Add your course name, description, cover photo, and set who can access this course out of all members, some members, or members of a certain level and higher. You can always manually adjust which courses a member can or can't access from the members tab later:
Note that all courses are published by default. You can use the green toggle button to revert to draft status (hiding this course from members). You'll be able to tell drafted courses in your classroom from the icon in the upper left corner and reduced opacity.
When you're on the classroom screen, you can hover over any course to see the action menu appear in the upper right corner. Use this to move the order of your course, delete it, or return to the edit screen to change any info, permissions, and cover photo:
Once you add a new course, you are immediately taken to your module view. You'll see the course title, completion percentage, and then an auto-generated "new set" and "new module":
- Sets are a convenient method to organize sections of a course (example: Week 1, Week 2) and contain the separate course modules.
- Modules are the actual pages of content that live in a set. Note that sets are not required, you can delete the one created by default.
Clicking the action menu next to your course title is where you can edit the course, add sets and modules, and delete the course:
Similarly, the action menu next to sets allows you to edit the set (name and draft/published status), delete it, or add a module directly into that set. Just hover over that area to reveal the three dots:
The expandable arrows next to the action menu allow you to expand and collapse the contents of your set:
When in this view, you can organize module order or which set modules live in by dragging and dropping the modules accordingly. Note that you cannot drag a module outside of a set, but you can use the "change set" option in the module action menu and select "none."
Speaking of module settings, access that action menu by hovering to the right of module name in the sidebar:
- Edit module - this switches the module into the edit view (more on that below).
- Revert to draft - this reverts your module to draft mode and hides it from members. The option switches to "publish module" to republish it when you're ready. Drafted modules and sets show "(Draft)" next to the title:
- Change set - as mentioned above, this allows you to assign a module to a different set or to no set without using drag and drop.
- Duplicate - need to copy a module to make slight changes? This will create a duplicate module in draft mode by default with identical content. You'll see "(Copy)" next to the title:
- Drip status - drip is the number of days that must elapse after a member joins your group to unlock a module. This is turned off by default, but clicking this option, brings up the "edit drip" modal:
Use the toggle to turn drip on and set the number of days:
Click "save" to complete the change, and you'll now see the drip status hidden in this
- Delete - this brings up the delete module modal. Note that deleting a module can't be undone!
Now you're ready to create your module content. You can use the "edit module" option from the module action menu, or simply click the pencil icon in the top right:
You'll now see the core fields of the module expand to become editable - module title, video, description, and the resources dropdown at the bottom:
- Module title - here you can customize your module name, and after saving changes you'll see it reflected in the sidebar:
- Videos - Skool supports YouTube, Vimeo, Wistia, and Loom links. Simply click "Add a video," enter a valid link, click "add" and you're ready to go:
Once added, your video looks like this in the edit view:
If you ever need to copy your video URL, click the "link" button next to the "X" when hovering over the video:
Need to change the video? Click the "X" to bring up the delete video modal - just delete and add a fresh link:
- Description - this is the most dynamic field in the module editor and the primary content area other than the video. Since you can add in-line images and different text formatting, this section can make up the entirety of your module if you don't want to go the video route.
Head here for a detailed breakdown of the rich text editor functionality in the description.
- Resources - you'll notice the "Add" dropdown menu at the bottom of your module edit view. Click this to upload a resource to your module:
- Add resource link: this allows you to share any hyperlink to the bottom of your module and rename it whatever you want.
- Add resource file: here you can upload .pdfs, .jpegs, spreadsheet files, etc for your users to view and download.
- Add transcript: if you want to include a transcript for your video, you can add a transcript text box and type/paste your content in there. This will be expandable/collapsable at the bottom of your module since transcripts tend to be pretty lengthy.
Utilizing all three resource types, your module will look something like this in edit view:
If you need to change the order of your resource files (this excludes transcripts), edit the content, or delete them simply hover over one of the files to reveal the action menu. To remove a transcript, just delete all the content from the transcript text box:
To finalize your edits and share your module with the world, the last things to do are publish and save! The "Published" toggle is turned on by default, meaning as soon as you hit the save button your module will be viewable to those who have access. You can always revert to draft and save a module to hide it for any reason.
The universal "Save" button finalizes any changes to the module. Hitting "cancel" will abandon any changes after confirming the browser prompt that you really don't want to save any changes:
Upon saving, you'll be taken to the module view so you can see what your users see. Here is an example of a completed module in Skool:
That's it! Your content is ready for the world, and switching it up takes seconds.
A note on course access:
Note that anyone that does not have access to your course (or a specific module waiting for drip to elapse) won't be able to see your module content. They'll see a message overlay displaying they don't have access, and they also won't be able to search for course content via Skool's global search feature.
For blocked access:
For level locked access:
For modules where drip hasn't elapsed: